how can i convince you its me i don't like

Carl

2006-08-15 - 11:32 a.m.

CARL it reads on the back of his yellowed leather belt.The belt looks as aged as he does, well worn and well loved.The leather is beginning to crack around the indentation of the letters and the intricate design surrounding his name.Carl smells of stale cigarette smoke and rain.He has a wry smile and if you look deep into his eyes you can see a happy past. Laugh lines wrinkle his face and give him an approachability that he otherwise would lack.He brings in our store supplies once a week.He always remembers my name, he always has a smile for me.Each week I imagine I get to know him a little better just from hellos and smiles and how are yous.The timbre of his voice, the inflection of his words,his easy smile clearly reveal a man content with himself, content with his lot in life.
I strive to achieve that.
Contentment.
What a wonderful thought.

regrets - hopes

the past

hosted by DiaryLand.com